My Crooked View?

For most of my life, people have commented on my view of the world and life.  Some disapprove of it, others question it and some even marvel at it.  For several years now, I’ve wondered what it is about me that is so different.  Obviously I have a unique storied past, but that’s not truly life-altering…or is it?

Recently, I’ve had the honor of being a part of the “I Know Dave Dusick” phenomenon.  Started as a joke by a friend, it quickly evolved into something that is truly life-changing.  While everybody knows I’m different looking, not many knew why…until the IKDD Collaboration was created.  Not understanding the scope of our new venture, we decided to donate all the proceeds to Riley Hospital for Children rather than profiting from this unbelievable craze.  In doing so, a website was created and I told my story in a public forum for the first time.

You know, it’s funny, I guess I always just assumed that there was a ‘word on the street’ that sort-of lingered about and let people know why it was that I look different.  However, come to find out, there wasn’t.  There are literally thousands of people who know me but have no idea what made me different…

So…just like that, my story was out there.  Now, ten months later, there have been over a thousand visitors to the website and we’ve got over one-hundred t-shirts distributed.  Unfortunately the entire reason for creating the project, donating the ‘proceeds’ to Riley Hospital, is not exactly a successful venture.  However, the good news is that so many other great things have come from this project.  I am reminded on a daily basis how incredibly fortunate I am to live this life.  From the emails claiming that I am an inspiration to stories from other Riley Parents who relate and rejoice in knowing that hope is not lost, (and…here come the tears…) there is a great amount of positive energy making its way into my life.

Ok, enough of the mushy stuff…moving on to the point.

So, as I sit here today with an excess of eleven-hundred Facebook friends, a hundred-and-some people joyfully wearing a t-shirt with my name on it and a social life that resembles a B-Roll Hollywood actor…I still ask the same question:

Besides the obvious physical appearance, what makes me so different?

Over the last year, I’ve spent several afternoons and countless hours pondering this exact question.  Based upon the massive amounts of positive feedback from our IKDD efforts, I’ve decided to take these evaluations and make them public.  After all, I thank the IKDD supporters for changing life in a positive direction and I can only hope that a truly collaborative effort can help us find the true meaning to a successful life…

Now, the word “collaborative” insinuates that this is an effort that includes you.  Many of you have already written emails or sparked conversations regarding how my life story has changed yours.  At the risk of sounding arrogant, I’m asking you to continue to do this.  If you feel like my life has had an impact, positive or negative, let me know…

Furthermore, if you have a problem you just feel like you can’t solve…shoot it to me.  I have no idea why, but it seems that many find my ideas to be helpful in tough situations.  Don’t worry; nothing about your life will be made public without your approval and encouragement.  This is a positive effort and we’ll do everything we can to keep the results encouraging…

So yeah, get to work!  Visit www.IKnowDaveDusick.com, https://davedusick.wordpress.com and/or send a submission to crookedview@davedusick.com.  I am anxious to see this evolve and am excited to see where we may land…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My Crooked View?

  1. Chris flynn says:

    Dave, you are who you are. Not because you look different, but because you are different. Your looks only help make you recognizable, your attitude and unbelievable desire is what drives your success and development. I can only speak for myself, but I am sure all would agree, that having you in my life makes me a better person. I can only hope that “life” lets us be lifelong friends. Thank you for showing us that gigantic obstacles can be overcome by striving for
    what you want and not stopping until you get it.
    Much love from the neighbors.

Leave a comment